Institutions and Sponsors

Ludwig-Maximilians University of Munich

The Ludwig-Maximilians- Universität was founded in 1472 in Ingolstadt. Later in 1826 it moved to the heart of Munich, where it has grown to have nowadays more than 60000 students and post-graduates and over 4000 academic staff members. Committed to provide the highest level of education, the university is also one of the leading research universities in Europe.

The Faculty of Physics is one of the largest in Germany, with two hundred and eighty scientists that cover nearly all the fields of modern physics: astrophysics, elementary particle physics, mathematical physics, solid-state physics, biophysics and nanoscience, modern quantum optics, laser physics, and meteorology. Our researchers from the Munich Quantum Center belong to the Chair of Physics, particularly, the Chair of Experimental Physics (Profs. J. von Delft, A. Högele, and S. Ludwig), and the Chair of Theoretical Physics (Profs. U. Schollwöck and L. Pollet).

In the latest version of the Times Higher Education World University Ranking, LMU Physics is placed in the 19th world position, while LMU as a whole is rated as the best university in Germany and the only German university to figure in the world’s Top Fifty. Along its history, the LMU has been granted with fourteen Nobel Prizes, eleven of them in physics and chemistry.

The Faculty of Mathematics conducts research in many core field of mathematics, with applications in physics, information technology and economics. Profs. Peter MüllerThomas Ostergaard, and Heinz Siedentop belong to the Mathematical Institute, which is specialized in algebraic geometry, analysis, mathematical and numerical physics, differential geometry and topology, mathematical logic, and statistics and financial mathematics. 

Technical University of Munich

The TUM was one of the first universities in Germany to be named a University of Excellence, and is regularly ranked as one of the best European Universities in international rankings. According to its Mission Statement, the TUM is committed to innovative progress in those fields of science that promise an eventual improvement in the society and in the people’s life quality. The TUM has dynamic an entrepreneurial profile, with a structure that facilitate the initiative and interdisciplinary work at every level.

Its Physics Faculty is situated in the campus Garching, which is one of the largest centers for research and teaching in Germany. Our MQC members Profs. J. Finley, A. Holleitner and R. Zwerger are strong assets in the research area of condensed matter physics of the department.

In addition, three of our MQC members, Profs. S. Glaser, R. Gross, and T. Schulte-Herbriueggen, belong to the Faculty of Chemistry of the TUM. With four Nobel laureates in its history, the Faculty of Chemistry is also located in the campus Garching.

In the same campus is placed the Faculty of Mathematics, to which MQC Profs. M. Wolf and S. Warzel belong. Offering an attractive and stimulating environment for students of mathematics at all levels, the faculty carries out cutting edge research at the interface of mathematics with physics, chemistry, engineering, life sciences, economics.

Max Planck Institute for Quantum Optics

The MPQ was founded on 1 January 1976 with the formation of the Laser Research Group at the Max Planck Institute of Plasma Physics. It was not until 1981 that the research group achieved the status of a separate Max Planck Institute, and different divisions were created. Today, the institute comprises five different divisions, four of them taking part of the Munich Quantum Center: Prof. G. Rempe (Quantum Dynamics division), Prof. I. Cirac (Theory Division), Prof. I. Bloch (Quantum Many Body Systems) and Prof. T. Hänsch (Laser Spectroscopy Division).

Each division is a world leading reference on its field, as witnessed by their frequent contributions in mayor research journals and awards. Among the latter, it is worth to note that Prof. Theodor W. Hänsch was awarded the 2005 Nobel Prize in Physics, together with John L. Hall, "for their contributions to the development of laser-based precision spectroscopy, including the optical frequency comb technique". The frequency comb was developed in his Laser Spectroscopy Division at the MPQ in the late 1990s.

Physics Faculty in the LMU Munich campus.

General view of the TUM at the Garching-Forschungzentrum campus.

Entrance of the Max Planck Institute for Quantum Optics in Garching Forstchungszentrum.